Daylight Saving


​Clocks went forward​

Daylight saving began in NSW on Sunday, 2 October 2016, when clocks moved forward one hour at 2:00am.

Picture of Calendar with October 2nd 



Clocks will go back

Daylight saving will end in NSW on Sunday, 2 April 2017, when clocks will go back one hour at 3:00am.



When does daylight saving occur?


Daylight saving for all future summers in New South Wales begins at 2:00am on the first Sunday in October and ends at 3:00 am on the first Sunday in April.

See future dates of daylight saving in NSW.

The same period of daylight saving is observed in Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT.

Daylight saving is not observed in Queensland, Western Australia or the Northern Territory.​

Sunrise and sunset times

Sunrise and sunset times are available from Geoscience Australia.


Public and school holidays

Find information about public holidays and school holidays in NSW.