Justice Home > About Justice > Daylight saving

Learn how our essential services will continue to operate as we respond 'Together against COVID-19'.

Definitions of time

Local Standard Time

The globe is divided into 'Standard Time' zones. Local Standard Time is the time specified for each zone. This is usually stated in terms of hours ahead or behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). 



Hours ahead of UTC

New South Wales (except Broken Hill and Lord Howe Island)

ACT, Victoria, Tasmania Queensland

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)

UTC + 10 hours

Broken Hill, South Australia and the Northern Territory

Australian Central Standard Time (ACST)

UTC + 9.5 hours

Western Australia

Western Standard Time (AWST)

UTC + 8 hours

Lord Howe Island


UTC + 10.5 hours

Daylight saving time

Daylight saving or summer time is commonly expressed as AEDT (Australian Eastern Daylight Time). In periods of daylight saving an hour is added to the Local Standard Time. 

Where daylight saving is observed

NSW, ACT, VIC and TAS move from AEST to Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT), and clocks are advanced to UTC +11.

SA and the NSW town of Broken Hill move from ACST to Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT), and clocks are advanced to UTC +10.5.

Daylight saving is not observed in Queensland, the Northern Territory or Western Australia.

Further information about time zones and daylight saving in other Australian states and territories is available on the australia.gov.au website.

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)

UTC replaced Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) as the international time standard and is based on an atomic clock (International Atomic Time, or TAI).

Current UTC time can be retrieved from the Bureau International des Poids et Mesures (BIPM).

Sunrise and sunset times

Sunrise and sunset times are available from Geoscience Australia.

Public and school holidays

Information about public holidays and school holidays in NSW.