Justice Home

NSW Caretaker Convention in effect on this site from Friday 3 March 2023.

NSW State Arms and Symbols

New South Wales has its own distinctive flag as well as its own coat of arms, crest, state flower, animal, bird and fish.

The use of the State Arms and Symbols (including the NSW flag and crest and emblems) is regulated by the State Arms, Symbols and Emblems Act 2004 (the Act). The State Arms and symbols are depicted in the schedules to the Act.

The Act prohibits the use of the State Arms or a State Symbol in connection with any trade, business, calling or profession, or for the collection of debts, without the authority of the Governor or Attorney General. ​

Government agencies can use the State Arms or Symbols for any official purpose without seeking approval, subject to any guidelines set down by the Premier.