Department of Justice is now the Department of Communities and Justice.  Find out more >

Change your clocks for daylight savings this Sunday

Issued: Friday 3 October 2014

[PDF, 121KB]

NSW residents are reminded to wind their clocks forward one hour to mark the start of daylight saving on Sunday 5 October.
Daylight savings officially begins at 2am on Sunday and will be in place until Sunday 5 April next year.

Daylight saving is held from the first Sunday in October until the first Sunday in April in all Australian states and territories except Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory where daylight saving is not observed.

Daylight saving was introduced for the first time during World War I from 1 January to 25 March 1917. It also operated during World War II for three summers beginning on 1January 1942 before being re-introduced in NSW in 1971.

For more information about daylight saving in NSW please call 8688 7966 or visit