Learn how our essential services will continue to operate as we respond 'Together against COVID-19'.

​Change your clocks for the end of daylight saving

Issued: Friday, 1 April 2016

[PDF, 45kb]

The Department of Justice is reminding NSW residents that daylight saving will end at 3am on Sunday 3 April, when clocks go back one hour.

Daylight saving is held from the first Sunday in October until the first Sunday in April in all Australian states and territories except Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory where daylight saving is not observed.

Daylight saving was introduced for the first time during World War I from 1 January to 25 March 1917. It also operated during World War II for three summers beginning on 1 January 1942 before being re-introduced in NSW in 1971.

For more information about daylight saving in NSW, call 8688 7966 or visit www.justice.nsw.gov.au