Learn how our essential services will continue to operate as we respond 'Together against COVID-19'.

​Five new District Court judges for NSW​​

Issued: Thursday, 28 July 2016

[PDF, 122KB]

Biographies of new District Court judges [PDF, 153KB]

Attorney G​eneral Gabrielle Upton today announced the appointment of five new judges to the NSW District Court.

Ms Upton said the appointees included Nicole Noman SC, Philip Ingram SC, Jeffery McLennan SC and Robert Sutherland SC, and former Local and Children’s Court magistrate Warwick Hunt.

“Each of these highly respected criminal barristers has had an extensive and distinguished legal career spanning over 30 years,” Ms Upton said.

“I congratulate them on their appointments and have no doubt the District Court will benefit from their experience at the bar.”

Ms Noman, Mr Ingram and Mr McLennan are currently serving as Crown Prosecutors and their appointments are part of the NSW Government’s $39 million Budget package to reduce backlogs and delays in the District Court.

Mr Ingram will preside in Sydney until July 2017 from which time he will replace Judge Gordon Lerve, who is moving to Wagga Wagga to provide the Riverina with a fulltime District Court Judge.

Mr McLennan will also preside in Sydney until July 2017, when he will re-locate to New England. Ms Noman will be based in the Sydney metro area.

Mr Hunt, who is in private practice will replace Judge Brian Knox SC at the Sydney Downing Centre who is retiring after 11 years on the bench.

Mr Sutherland, also in private practice will fill a vacancy left by Judge Gregory Woods QC who is due to retire later this year after 18 years in the role.

“I thank Judge Knox and Judge Woods for their outstanding efforts in helping to deliver fast, fair and accessible justice in the NSW District Court,” Ms Upton said.

“They have served with distinction and I wish them all the best for this next chapter of their lives.”

The five new judges will be sworn in next month.