Justice Home > Media & news > Ministerial Media releases

Learn how our essential services will continue to operate as we respond 'Together against COVID-19'.


Published date: Friday, 19 October 2018

[PDF 171kb]

Attorney General Mark Speakman today announced the appointment of Lea Armstrong as a Supreme Court judge and as President of the NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NCAT).

“Ms Armstrong is an exceptional lawyer, a trailblazer and a proven leader who has served with distinction over the past three years as the state’s first female Crown Solicitor,” Mr Speakman said.

“She has more than a quarter of century of experience in government and commercial law and is well equipped to lead the State’s super tribunal, NCAT.”

Prior to becoming Crown Solicitor, Ms Armstrong worked as NSW Treasury’s first General Counsel. She advised the government on the development of laws that enabled the partial lease of NSW’s electricity network.

Earlier in her career, Ms Armstrong served in a range of other senior roles in the Crown Solicitor’s Office, including as General Counsel and as an Assistant Crown Solicitor in commercial law and in administrative law. She also worked for Blake Dawson Waldron (now Ashurst) and was an associate for the now retired High Court judge Michael McHugh AC QC.

Ms Armstrong holds a Masters of Law from the University of NSW, and a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the Australian National University.

NCAT is a gateway for almost all tribunal services in NSW. In 2013, it integrated 23 of the State’s tribunals and bodies and now operates four specialist divisions:

  • Consumer and Commercial;
  • Guardianship;
  • Administrative and Equal Opportunity; and
  • Occupational.

In 2016-17, NCAT conducted more than 78,000 hearings in over 70 venues across NSW, with a focus on delivering outcomes efficiently, fairly and cost effectively.

Ms Armstrong will be sworn in as a Supreme Court judge on 31 October 2018. On the same date, she will begin a five-year term as NCAT President. She replaces Justice Robertson Wright who will now serve in the Common Law Division of the Supreme Court of NSW.