Justice Home > Media & news > Ministerial Media releases

The Department of Communities and Justice Beta website is now open for public testing. Visit the Beta site to learn more.


Published date: Monday, 10 June 2019 

[PDF version of this media release]

Three Corrective Services NSW officers, who work hard to keep the community safe, have been awarded the Australian Corrections Medal, as part of this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours List. 

Craig Osland (Silverwater Correctional Complex), Sheryl Cordeiro (Blacktown Community Corrections Unit) and Emma Geesing (Long Bay Correctional Complex) have been acknowledged for their distinguished service and leadership.

Minister for Counter Terrorism and Corrections Anthony Roberts congratulated the recipients, who together have more than 80 years’ service. 

“I’m very proud of these hardworking officers, who have shown true dedication and passion for ensuring the safety of the community, and today they were duly recognised,” Mr Roberts said. 

“Corrective Services NSW is fortunate to have these officers’ combined eight decades’ experience working with offenders in the community and in prison. 

“From delivering new pre-release programs, dealing with serious prison incidents or developing partnerships with Police and others, each has shown excellence in the role and been a mentor to their colleagues.” 

CSNSW Commissioner Peter Severin said the three officers were nominated by their peers, demonstrating their respect within the organisation. 

“There is no higher acknowledgment as a corrections officer than to be a recipient of the Australian Corrections Medal and the awarding of it to these three officers today is well deserved,” Mr Severin said. 

“Craig, Sheryl and Emma all strive to go above and beyond in their duties and I congratulate them for receiving this national recognition.” 

The Australian Corrections Medal is awarded to correctional officers around Australia for distinguished service and leadership. The three recipients will be invested with their medals at NSW Government House later this year.