Department of Justice is now the Department of Communities and Justice.  Find out more >


​Resilience awards recognise response to disaster

A community group formed following the October 2013 Blue Mountains bushfires to improve household preparedness for emergency situations, is among the NSW winners of the Resilient Australia Awards.

The Resilient Australia Awards are a national initiative sponsored by the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in partnership with the States and Territories.

The Blue Mountains Disaster Resilience and Preparedness Working Group supports volunteers to speak with vulnerable community members about ways to improve their practical and psychological preparedness.

The Uranquinty Community Safety Group won the inaugural 'Get Ready' Community Award for their work developing and implementing a whole-of-town emergency plan.  The 'Get Ready' Award, introduced this year by the NSW Government, recognises a local community that has done exceptional work to make their community more prepared and better able to recover from natural disasters.

Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott paid tribute to all NSW winners of the Resilient Australia Awards and NSW 'Get Ready' Community during a ceremony at NSW Parliament House.

"These awards showcase the achievements of community groups, emergency services, state and local government, and education providers in making NSW communities safer, more resilient and better equipped when faced with emergencies," Mr Elliott said.

"All of the groups that nominated make a huge difference to the disaster preparedness and resilience of NSW communities, ensuring they are prepared for any event.

Among other winners was Insurance Australia Group (NRMA) for its partnership with the NSW State Emergency Service to address storm preparedness in NSW through the StormSafe campaign.

The NSW Department of Primary Industries was also honoured for its Flood Ready Agriculture project which was initiated following a succession of major floods in the North Coast region.

The winners of the NSW Resilient Australia Awards will now progress to the national awards.