Justice Home > About Justice > Ministers > Minister for Police and Minister for Emergency Services

Minister for Police and Minister for Emergency Services

Troy Grant MPTroy Grant

Troy Grant was appointed Minister for Police and Minister for Emergency Services in January 2017.

Minister Grant works in the Justice Cluster, the area of government responsible for the:

  • administration and enforcement of the law
  • punishment and rehabilitation of offenders
  • emergency services
  • protection of NSW from the threat of terrorism.

Minister Grant has held the Police portfolio since April 2015 when he was Minister Justice and Police, Minister for the Arts and Minister for Racing. He was elected leader of the National Party and Deputy Premier in October 2014 when he also became Minister for Trade and Investment, Minister for Regional Infrastructure and Services and Minister for Tourism and Major Events. In 2011 Mr Grant was Parliamentary Secretary for natural Resources and served as Chair and member on the Joint Select Committee on Sentencing of Child Sexual Assault Offenders. He was a member of the Social Policy Committee from June 2011 to May 2014.

His parliamentary career began in 2011 when he was elected to the seat of Dubbo. Mr Grant came to NSW Parliament after more than two decades as a sworn officer in the NSW Police Force.

Mr Grant joined the Force in 1989 and rose to the rank of Inspector. He was integral to implementing a number of community-based policing initiatives and was twice awarded the Commissioner’s Commendation for Courage.

He has lived and worked in regional NSW for most of his career, was educated in Tamworth, born in Maitland and now lives in Dubbo with his wife Toni and their two children.

Other Justice Cluster ministers

Attorney General Mark Speakman (Justice Cluster lead)

Minister for Counter Terrorism, Minister for Corrections and Minister for Veterans Affairs David Elliott