Justice Home

Learn how our essential services will continue to operate as we respond 'Together against COVID-19'.

About us

This page contains information about the role, vision, governance and structure of the Department of Justice.  

Detailed information about the department's divisions, offices, functions and services is available from each area's 'About us' page. Visit the Justice A-Z directory for links to each of the Department's areas of business.


Our role

The Department of Justice delivers legal, court and supervision services to the people of NSW by managing courts and justice services, implementing programs to reduce crime and re‑offending, managing custodial and community-based correctional services, protecting rights and community standards and advising on law reform and legal matters. 

The Department delivers a diverse range of essential services and supports to the community of NSW at the point in their lives where they come into contact with either the criminal or civil justice system.

The Department is responsible for: 

  • advising the government on law, justice and legal reforms
  • administering courts, tribunals and community justice centres
  • implementing effective intervention and diversionary programs to reduce re‑offending risks, prevent crime and divert, support and rehabilitate young and adult offenders
  • providing support services for victims of crime including counselling, compensation and court support
  • delivering offence-specific programs relating to violence and sexual offending
  • supervising and monitoring adult offenders
  • providing secure, safe and humane management of juvenile and adult inmates
  • supervising young people in custody, on bail, or sentenced to community based orders
  • providing legal, professional and regulatory services
  • recording life events
  • providing responsive services to vulnerable members of the community requiring life management and decision-making support. 


Our vision

The Deparment of Justice vision is to create a safe and just place for the people of NSW.

We do this through providing a focused, fairer and faster justice system with programs and services which contribute to building safe communities and the protection of rights.

Our 2014-2015 Strategic Plan [PDF, 57KB] sets the strategic direction for the Department and is key to ensuring we achieve our strategic goals including government commitments and priorities.


Corporate governance

The Secretary of the Department leads the Executive team made up of:

  • Secretary (Chair)
  • Deputy Secretary Justice Strategy and Policy
  • Deputy Secretary Courts and Tribunal Services
  • Deputy Secretary (Commissioner) Corrective Services NSW
  • Deputy Secretary Organisational Performance and Operations
  • Deputy Secretary Liquor, Gaming and Emergency Management
  • Deputy Secretary Arts & Culture
  • Executive Director Juvenile Justice
  • Executive Director NSW Trustee and Guardian
  • Executive Director Finance

The Executive team works with the Secretary to maintain an overview of the Department's performance. The Executive monitors the delivery of strategic priorities, and financial and organisational performance.

The Executive team oversees the progress of key Government, Justice Cluster and Department plans and priorities such as NSW 2021, roadmaps, savings plans, Department strategic and business plans, and ensures the Minister and the Government are appropriately advised.


The Justice Cluster

The Department of Justice is the Principal Department for the Justice Cluster. The Cluster is made up of 18 agencies whose work includes the effective and efficient operation of the justice system in NSW and progress the State Plan NSW 2021.

These agencies are:

View the Justice Cluster structure diagram [PDF, 128kb]


The Justice Department's structure

The Department of Justice is made up of 12 divisions.

View the Department's organisation structure [PDF, 30kb]​​ 

The Department's websites include: